A Request For A 9/11 Cake - What Do I Do????

Decorating By this-mama-rocks Updated 21 Aug 2008 , 4:05pm by this-mama-rocks

this-mama-rocks Posted 18 Aug 2008 , 6:55pm
post #1 of 16

I am seriously conflicted and hesitant about this.

Friend of a neighbor recently saw and ate one of my not-too-disastrous efforts (I'm still pretty new at this). I guess neighbor must have given her my number. Today she left a message, asking me to do a 9/11 remberence cake. Her family/close friends (about 40 people) will attend a religious service honoring a lost family member, then convene at her home.

All she said was she wants is a "tasteful, sensitive design that honors everyone who was lost that day". I am clueless for an idea about an appropriate design, and I'm just not sure that I am up to this task in the first place.

On one hand, I am flattered that she would ask me, as I realize this is very important to her. On the other hand, I have only made a few cakes for family/friends and I am terrified creating something that does not appropriately address the circumstances of the event. Maybe I am just projecting my feelings that eating cake is not the best way to acknowledge her loss. But then again, I haven't walked in her shoes, so how do I know what's best and what's not...

Do I accept? Decline? Anyone have an idea for an appropriate design? I really don't know what to do, so any advice or help is greatly appreciated.

15 replies
Bettycrockermommy Posted 18 Aug 2008 , 9:40pm
post #2 of 16

do you have an edible image printer? I think that this picture is beautiful.

http://www.scrubair.com/about.html

this-mama-rocks Posted 18 Aug 2008 , 9:58pm
post #3 of 16

Bettycrockermommy, it IS beautiful!

I don't have an edible image printer, but I can "make do" without one. Just found out that the lady lost her family member in DC, so I am thinking of a way to incorporate that info into the design. (sigh)

Thank you so much for getting me started!