Please Help Asap On Mmf!!!

Decorating By vickymacd Updated 18 Aug 2008 , 12:17am by vickymacd

vickymacd Posted 16 Aug 2008 , 9:41pm
post #1 of 12

So far the cake I have to make for tomorrow was going well till I brought out the MMF I made 3 days ago. It's tougher than tough! I've made this several times and naturally when I really need it, it's yuck!!

Is there anything I can do to soften it up so I can roll it out? I've tried nuking it, but the MMF itself is just tough. Please help!!!

11 replies
aztomcat Posted 16 Aug 2008 , 9:50pm
post #2 of 12

The easiest thing i have done is dribbled it with water, wrapped in saran and nuked it for a minute as so. It sounds dry to me.

valnorman Posted 16 Aug 2008 , 9:51pm
post #3 of 12

I'm not that experienced, but I just made some MMF today and hope I don't have this problem! I always nuke it for 10 sec at a time and work it with my hands criscoed up. It usually softens up after about 3 or 4 goes. It seems the longer it has sat, the more crisco it soaks up, but I just keep loading up my hands. I hope it works for you, but I saw that no one else had said anything yet and I thought I would try to help?!? Good Luck!

raquel1 Posted 16 Aug 2008 , 9:53pm
post #4 of 12

I would also add the bit of water. Maybe crisco your hands and try to knead some water in ant then nuke it. Good luck

vickymacd Posted 16 Aug 2008 , 9:56pm
post #5 of 12

Yes, it's definately dry!! Will try the crisco! Thanks, and if that doesn't work, I'll add a bit of water too. Thank you all so much for such fast response!!

SUELA Posted 16 Aug 2008 , 9:58pm
post #6 of 12

Adding some glycerin might help to, adding some elasticity back.

vickymacd Posted 16 Aug 2008 , 10:16pm
post #7 of 12

Thank you everyone!!! You saved me and this cake!!!! I sweat it out for so long making cakes as it's always beautiful in my head but when it comes out of my brain, it goes down the tubes!!!