Adventures In Extract Making

Decorating By HerBoudoir Updated 16 Aug 2008 , 5:51pm by xstitcher

HerBoudoir Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HerBoudoir Posted 16 Aug 2008 , 3:20pm
post #1 of 8

I keep getting questions about making vanilla extract, so I figured I'd post about some of my experiments and experiences.

I'm a hobby baker (and admittedly a bit of a food snob); all of this probably is NOT practical if you're baking commercially. One of my "things" is that I like using the best ingredients I can get - I think it really makes a difference in the quality of my baking. Plus quite honestly, I really like messing around with things like this - it's a "project" and fun in a really geeky sort of way icon_smile.gif

So I've been playing around with not only making vanilla extract, but I've also added lemon and orange extract to that list.

It started out with a purchase of a half pound of vanilla beans - I went from treating them like very expensive gold to "ok now what do I do with all of these?" Long story shore, back in April, I started brewing my own vanilla extract.

Then about a month ago...I figured...if I can make vanilla, why not lemon and orange? (I'll also be adding key lime soon).

Basics:

Alcohol + flavoring + time = Extract

Alcohol:

Commercially made extract is typically about 35% alcohol by volume, or 70 proof. Vodka, rum, gin, bourbon, and scotch are all around 80 proof, or 40% alcohol. Vodka is probably the optimal alcohol to use because it has such a neutral flavor. "Rotgut", i.e. the cheapest available, is just fine - save the good stuff for a cocktail. If you look around, you can buy a 750 ml of cheap vodka for about $7-$8, or even less. That will give you a little over two pint jars of alcohol - you can save the couple extra ounces to refill the jars after you use some of the extract.

Storage: