Fondant Help Please!!!

Decorating By mommabaker Updated 18 Aug 2008 , 5:32pm by xstitcher

mommabaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommabaker Posted 15 Aug 2008 , 1:38pm
post #1 of 13

I need some what I feel is probably basic help on using fondant. I am trying to create a wedding dress cake using the wonder mold pan and the doll pick. the cake is mainly for a centerpiece and since it's my first time ever trying fondant I decided to go the the Wilton ready made stuff. Last night I tried covering the doll pick with black fondant like I have seen many ladies on here do and it did not go so well. I have read that I need to use confectioner's sugar to keep the fondant from sticking but with black fondant and white sugar it just looked bad. Once I got it rolled out I tried wrapping the doll pick and could not get it to look smooth, it kept tearing and was just overall a big mess. Please tell me what I'm doing wrong. How do I get the fondant to stick to the doll pick because it would just fall off. Do I need to use buttercream or something on the doll pick before I use the fondant.

Thanks in advance for any help!
Brandy

12 replies
SugarLover2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarLover2 Posted 15 Aug 2008 , 2:55pm
post #2 of 13

I have never worked with the doll pick so I can't help with that. The Wilton fondant though I found hard to work with. It has to be a bit thicker than the other brands. I'm not sure exactly how thick, maybe 1/4 inch at least. If the pick (which I have no idea about) is put into the top of a rounded cake, cover the cake with buttercream. That will keep the fondant in one spot. I just worked with black also and didn't think about the ps sticking to it and making it look bad. Try rubbing crisco on your board or whatever you're rolling it out on. It shouldn't stick and will add a bit of sheen to it. I hope some of this helps.

lorijom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lorijom Posted 15 Aug 2008 , 3:00pm
post #3 of 13