Preparing A Cake Before Frosting

Decorating By Jayceem Updated 19 Aug 2008 , 6:09am by xstitcher

Jayceem Posted 13 Aug 2008 , 2:36pm
post #1 of 8

I am new at this. I have been doing cakes for birthdays and such, but I want to expand. I want to make a birthday cake for my daughter's first birthday and I have the design I want, but want to know what others do to prepare their baked cake before they frost it. Any ideas would be appreciated.

7 replies
snowshoe1 Posted 13 Aug 2008 , 3:03pm
post #2 of 8

It depends on what you are trying to do. There are a lot of different things people do to prepare the cake - e.g.:

- some people freeze their cakes after baking; claim it makes them moister (personally, I have not noticed a difference)
- apply a simple sugar syrup to the top of the cake
- torte, level and add filling
- crumb coat
- etc...

Is this the type of information you are looking for?

Jayceem Posted 13 Aug 2008 , 4:37pm
post #3 of 8

Yes! I decided to freeze it but how long do I need to defrost it before I frost it?

snowshoe1 Posted 13 Aug 2008 , 4:39pm
post #4 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayceem

Yes! I decided to freeze it but how long do I need to defrost it before I frost it?

Shouldn't take more than a few hours.

ETA: when I do freeze, I defrost in the fridge; not sure why - I just do

aswartzw Posted 13 Aug 2008 , 6:20pm
post #5 of 8

If I have time, I freeze. It helps spread my cake time over a few days instead of crammed into one. While I personally find it does improve in the moistness, I prefer it because it firms the cake up for easier handling.

I remove from the freezer a few hours or the morning of (if I remember) and defrost on the counter. The refrigerator will actually dry out your unfrosted cakes so it seems counter-intuitive to me to defrost in there.

snowshoe1 Posted 13 Aug 2008 , 6:40pm
post #6 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by aswartzw