Help! What To Do? Long Sorry,

Lounge By HannahLass Updated 14 Aug 2008 , 8:52pm by KKC

HannahLass Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HannahLass Posted 10 Aug 2008 , 7:56am
post #1 of 12

Im rather new at cake decorating but am enjoying it a lot. Although I haven't been doing them for long most of them have been for other people (mostly ones people have bought from me) the only thing is people dont seem to realise how much effort goes in and how much the ingredients are, I guess I mean the people at work. I've always brought sweet things into the office. But now Im doing the decorating thing they want me to bring them in not caring how much it costs me. And now they are being pushy. Somone who hasnt really spoken to me in the office asked me to make a cake for her last day in the office. Im not very good at saying no and this has really annoyed me as I now have 3 cakes due in the same week (2 to paying customers) and I work full time. I only charge £20- £25 for my basic cakes but that covers ingredients and SOME of my time but this is a lot for me to be out of pocket to make a cake for someone who has never bothered to have a conversation with me. What do I do?

11 replies
chutzpah Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chutzpah Posted 10 Aug 2008 , 8:03am
post #2 of 12

We read about this ALL THE TIME here on CC.

Get yourself a backbone and just say no.

sadiepix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sadiepix Posted 10 Aug 2008 , 8:37am
post #3 of 12

Gotta second the frankness of Chutzpah--she is right!

I think it was Indydebi's remark that has stuck with me.
Tell them you will bring a cake in any time when they pay for it.

If you don't have the stuff to tell them where they and their cake-demanding ways can go, just say "sure, I'd love to make you a cake. That will be XX dollars." Then watch them stare in shock as you walk off.

Don't fold to people like this.

chutzpah Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chutzpah Posted 10 Aug 2008 , 9:59am
post #4 of 12