Help!! How Can I Make A Fondant Figure Stand On Its Own?!

Decorating By DelectableCreations Updated 9 Aug 2008 , 5:33pm by raquel1

DelectableCreations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DelectableCreations Posted 8 Aug 2008 , 11:20pm
post #1 of 16

Hello!

I am making a wedding topper for a friends wedding very similar to this...

and I have no idea how to make the figures stand on their own without falling over or needing ugly little miscellaneous things holding it up. It's for a wedding and I need all the supports to be hidden so it looks presentable. I'm extremely concerned and stressed out about how I can accomplish this! I've made tons of figures but never ones that had to stand this way and I'm freaking out! please help!!!!! icon_eek.gificon_cry.gif
LL

15 replies
Dee1219 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dee1219 Posted 8 Aug 2008 , 11:34pm
post #2 of 16

Hello, I am no expert but I would recommend making the body parts letting them harden and then putting them together. I use dry spaghetti to put them together. Aine2 has a few tutorials on her web page. HTH
Good luck and please post a picture when your done so we can see!!

luvbakin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luvbakin Posted 8 Aug 2008 , 11:34pm
post #3 of 16

Hummm, I would think that it's just very flat feet and then glued to the bottom piece, but pm aine2 and ask her. I'm sure she will know.

Good luck.

Lady_Phoenix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lady_Phoenix Posted 8 Aug 2008 , 11:51pm
post #4 of 16

According to her site, the figures are not fondant.

Quote:
Quote:

Lindy's toppers are made from an extremely light weight non toxic modelling medium, the main ingredients of which are rice and potato flour. The medium contains no resins or toxins which makes the figures ideal for placing on cakes.

pansza Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pansza Posted 9 Aug 2008 , 1:55am
post #5 of 16