Where Do I Start?!

Business By starlet Updated 8 Aug 2008 , 1:24am by taxnerd

starlet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
starlet Posted 7 Aug 2008 , 8:55pm
post #1 of 4

I have been making cakes for freinds and family for fun for about 2 years and now I am starting to get request from friends. I make it and tell them what it cost me in materials and then they pay what they want. Which has been totally fine so I could practice and have fun.

Now everyone is saying I should do this for real! I have NO buisness or math skill and have no idea where to begin pricing. I have heard per slice cost is most common, but how do you make that when each cake is different. I have had some of the same serving size, but one took 2 hours decoration time and one 5-6 hours.

I have made cakes both from packages and from scratch (it usually depended on time frame and schedule) I have been starting to make my own swiss buttercream I like it better and I have been testing recipes because if I do this I would want to make everything from scratch. I usually make custom cake to match invataions or themes. I get info and draw sketches and make the cake from there. And then I am thinking how do I do tasting?

My church has a big craft and buisness fair in Oct and I thought that would be a good time to "start". Any information would be Greatly appreciated.

Thanks for Reading and possibly returning some great information!

3 replies
JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 7 Aug 2008 , 10:39pm
post #2 of 4

You first need to find out if it is legal for you to sell home-baked goods in your state. Many do not allow it. You must do all your work in a licensed commercial kitchen. Even for the cost of materials, it is not legal.

As for pricing, you have to look around in your area as a place to start. Everyone develops a pricing structure that works for them and the kind of work they do.

cakelady15 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakelady15 Posted 7 Aug 2008 , 11:16pm