What Is Your Have To Have...total Waste Of Cash

Decorating By chelseafitz Updated 7 Aug 2008 , 6:54pm by aswartzw

chelseafitz Posted 6 Aug 2008 , 11:54pm
post #1 of 37

Hi all... Newbie here, I have been lurking for a few and decided to join in and say hi. I am completely obsessed with cake making and decorating right now. It is a hobby for me, but I am determined to be really good I have visions of Tiers in my head. I have already ordered the DVD's from sugarshack and am eagerly awaiting them So my question is...What item have you purchased that you could not live without, and what have you bought that has been a total waste of money??

Looking forward to meeting you all!

36 replies
JodieF Posted 7 Aug 2008 , 12:25am
post #2 of 37

well, hey there newbie....welcome to CC! You're gonna be addicted, just like the rest of us. icon_biggrin.gif
Let's see.....I couldn't live without my Kitcheaide mixer. I have the 6 quart and love it. I have an extra bowl, whip and beater.
As to what was a waste...I bought the Wilton ribbon cutter thing. You can put on different disks and separators. I never have gotten it to work right!

Jodie

valbos22 Posted 7 Aug 2008 , 12:36am
post #3 of 37

I am still pretty new myself but I highly recommend the parchment triangles, loving them! Flat icing spatula, cake icer and the cake turntable-- awesome. Also something to keep all of your stuff in, nothing is more frustrating than needing something you KNOW you have SOMEWHERE! icon_cry.gif

I have used pretty much everything I bought but I will say to definately shop around on your major items. The prices can vary greatly! There are usually 40% off coupons out there. Welcome to the fold.

Smiles,

val

Texas_Rose Posted 7 Aug 2008 , 12:38am
post #4 of 37

Wow...my answers sound just like JodieF's...Kitchen Aid mixer (I named her Sally icon_biggrin.gif ) is the best.