Satin Ice Questions

Decorating By cakeladyem Updated 7 Aug 2008 , 6:51pm by Hollysuann

cakeladyem Posted 6 Aug 2008 , 6:45pm
post #1 of 11

I have never used Satin Ice before but I have heard nothing but good about it and am thinking of ordering it. There is nothing available where I live other than Wilton, so that and homemade are all I have used. Are there any differences in working with Satin Ice that I should know? Also considering using Dark Chocolate Satin Ice for a cake and wondered if it is any different to work with than other fondants? Also, if I buy it in the 20 lb bucket, how long will it stay fresh and not dry out once it is opened? Thanks!

10 replies
SarahsSweets2006 Posted 6 Aug 2008 , 6:54pm
post #2 of 11

Hello~

I probably can't answer all the questions you asked about Satin Ice BUT I am definitely a Satin Ice fan!!!! For the longest time I would make MMF and it was such a pain in the _ _ _. So I decided to order some Satin Ice and I am glad I did! I wouldn't say it's different to work with. Super smooth. You don't have to worry about pieces of unmixed powdered sugar in it. AND I think it tatses WONDERFUL! I first bought the 5lb tub of white and the 2lb tub of black (because it's a pain to make black). It definitely doesn't go far so I just bought the 20 lb tub to use on a wedding cake. It claims it will stay fresh for a year... as long as it's wrapped up and the lid's on. I am sure you will end up going through it long before the year's up anyways. P.S. I still have some of my 5lb tub left even though I now have the 20lb and it's still fresh. I hope this helped.

jenstastycakes Posted 6 Aug 2008 , 6:56pm
post #3 of 11

I can't answer all your questions either. I use to make my own MMF and used only that, until I had a huge cake order and ordered Satin ice to help with the order. I now will only use the Sating Ice. It is much easier to work with and rolls out smoothly.

tracycakes Posted 6 Aug 2008 , 7:04pm
post #4 of 11