Satin Ice Questions

Decorating By cakeladyem Updated 7 Aug 2008 , 6:51pm by Hollysuann

cakeladyem Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeladyem Posted 6 Aug 2008 , 6:45pm
post #1 of 11

I have never used Satin Ice before but I have heard nothing but good about it and am thinking of ordering it. There is nothing available where I live other than Wilton, so that and homemade are all I have used. Are there any differences in working with Satin Ice that I should know? Also considering using Dark Chocolate Satin Ice for a cake and wondered if it is any different to work with than other fondants? Also, if I buy it in the 20 lb bucket, how long will it stay fresh and not dry out once it is opened? Thanks!

10 replies
SarahsSweets2006 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SarahsSweets2006 Posted 6 Aug 2008 , 6:54pm
post #2 of 11

Hello~

I probably can't answer all the questions you asked about Satin Ice BUT I am definitely a Satin Ice fan!!!! For the longest time I would make MMF and it was such a pain in the _ _ _. So I decided to order some Satin Ice and I am glad I did! I wouldn't say it's different to work with. Super smooth. You don't have to worry about pieces of unmixed powdered sugar in it. AND I think it tatses WONDERFUL! I first bought the 5lb tub of white and the 2lb tub of black (because it's a pain to make black). It definitely doesn't go far so I just bought the 20 lb tub to use on a wedding cake. It claims it will stay fresh for a year... as long as it's wrapped up and the lid's on. I am sure you will end up going through it long before the year's up anyways. P.S. I still have some of my 5lb tub left even though I now have the 20lb and it's still fresh. I hope this helped.

jenstastycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenstastycakes Posted 6 Aug 2008 , 6:56pm
post #3 of 11