Balloon Shaped/idea Cake

Decorating By kewaters Updated 12 Aug 2008 , 1:50pm by kewaters

kewaters Posted 5 Aug 2008 , 4:38pm
post #1 of 6

So, first off I just want to say I love this site. I've been a member for a short time, but have learned so much! Thanks to everyone on here!

I am fairly new to the cake world, and have dabbled in fondant a bit. My first 2 cakes weren't too bad, but I definitely had some problems with bulging, stacking, etc. But, I ordered SugarShacks dvd's and they have helped a TON!

I want to make a cake that is either balloon shaped or balloon themed. It is for The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society's Light The Night Walk this year. ( I am just having a tough time deciding if I should do the actual cake in a balloon shape, or cover it in red, white and gold (color of the 3 balloons carried at the walk) and just have balloons on the cake.

Any ideas or suggestions would be much appreciated. I tried to search the gallery, but for some reason when I search it adds an extra word into my search and I can't get it figured out. TIA!

5 replies
miny Posted 6 Aug 2008 , 8:01am
post #2 of 6

Why don't you make a huge hot air ballon (well I don't know how many servings you'll need) but if you do the actual cake a basket with some kids on board and then hold, with fondant covered wire a big ballon on top. Maybe you can get one from the ones they are going to use (usually they have the event name on them) or make a sign or big ribbon out of fondant and "hang it" from the basket like if the kids are holding it, just a thought! icon_smile.gif
P.S. The only time I've work with real ballons was in my curious george cake and it was actually fun.

kewaters Posted 11 Aug 2008 , 7:57pm
post #3 of 6