How Many Servings For A Castle Cake????

Decorating By steffla Updated 5 Aug 2008 , 4:53pm by steffla

steffla Posted 4 Aug 2008 , 3:12am
post #1 of 11

I had a customer order a stand up castle cake for 60 people, 38 of which are children, for a 3rd birthday party. I have never done a castle before and have several cakes the week before and after this. I was wondering whether or not to decline.

First of all, is this something I could do and plan with just about 3 weeks?

Second, and most important, how do I figure servings for this as I am unfamiliar with the structure? The cake will be covered in fondant and I would prefer to make it all edible (i.e. not cardboard towers).

Thank you for you help!!!! Any comments, suggestions or photos are welcome and appreciated!

Steph

10 replies
steffla Posted 4 Aug 2008 , 3:42am
post #2 of 11

Just another question.....I just saw a castle cake with buttercream and towers were covered in mmf. I would be okay with that as well but since I dont have a brick impression mat, what could I do to texturize the bc part?

steffla Posted 4 Aug 2008 , 4:06am
post #3 of 11

Anyone????? Please help icon_smile.gif

mixinvixen Posted 4 Aug 2008 , 4:11am
post #4 of 11

the brick mats are quite accessible. check out your local cake shop first. they're only a few dollars. if they don't have them, go to your local hobby store and check the "dollhouse" section...more than likely, there will be a fake brick there that will have texture...it's what they use for the outside of the dollhouses. if they don't have it, check over in the polymer clay area...ya never know. if none of these give you results, then you can always do it freehand with a butter knife.