Discount-Requesters On The Loose!

Business By dawncr Updated 29 Sep 2008 , 2:57am by strawberry0121

dawncr Posted 3 Aug 2008 , 3:28am
post #1 of 26

I'm just a hobbyist, but I've been amazed when I've read about how many customers request discounts for their cakes. I've never requested a discount in my life, for anything, and have even refused one when offered. No worries-- I'm not all that kind all the time. I have a really bitchy streak, too.

Unfortunately, I think the discount-requesters might be increasing. This past week, on Good Morning America, the consumer reporter showed how one can get a discount on anything, just by asking. They filmed her getting discounts from huge, brand name stores, and suggested that it was even easier with smaller businesses. I thought of everyone here when I heard that.

With the economy like this, the consumer reporters are talking about how to save money, rather than how to flip your house, or how to invest. Asking for discounts appears to be one of their cost-saving suggestions. (I'm wondering if they consider the impact this will have on the economy as a whole. Wouldn't it just make things worse if business people are squeezed even further?)

The worst part is that customers may feel compelled to point out some "flaw" in the product or to comment on the expense of the product. This will lead lots of cakers to feel terrible and consider a discount.

Just say "Sorry, No," and don't let it make you doubt your skill and your prices. If all else fails, imagine getting coached by a little IndyDebi sitting on your shoulder.

25 replies
lillicakes Posted 3 Aug 2008 , 11:31am
post #2 of 26