Help!! Frogs And Unicorns Cake Idea???

Decorating By vagostino Updated 2 Aug 2008 , 2:22pm by xstitcher

vagostino Posted 1 Aug 2008 , 3:12pm
post #1 of 7

Hi! i'm really new to this and i'm trying to do it as a business. My neighbor wants me to do a frogs and unicorns theme cake for her fraternal twins' birthday.
I work mainly with fondant as i have horrible piping skills!!! Any ideas of what to do?? I want it to be awesome as it would be really good advertising for me in the neighborhood.

6 replies
xstitcher Posted 2 Aug 2008 , 3:31am
post #2 of 7

Sorry I don't have any ideas right now. My brain isn't functioning fully (migraine's coming again....) but I thought I'd give you a bump so perhaps someone else can help.

I'll try to think of some ideas over the weekend though!

Good Luck!

kimmypooh79 Posted 2 Aug 2008 , 5:35am
post #3 of 7

My idea comes from a strange place but I have this shower curtain that has fairies, castles, carriages, frogs, and unicorns. What if you could make sort of a fairy tale cake with a frog prince and unicorn. Here's the link to the shower curtain....click on the picture and it will enlarge a bit. Might give you some ideas.
http://www.kohls.com/kohlsStore/bedandbath/bathcollections/kids/PRD~228683/Princess+Shower+Curtain.jsp#

dragonflydreams Posted 2 Aug 2008 , 5:41am
post #4 of 7

. . . I assume one twin is the frog and the other is the unicorn . . . I would be inclined to make two separate cakes "identical" but different . . . one with the frog and the other with the unicorn (but everything else the same) . . . they could be different colors (but tie them together by decorating them the same way) . . . let me see if I can find something that demonstrates what I mean . . .

. . . something like this . . . http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=720993

vagostino Posted 2 Aug 2008 , 11:06am
post #5 of 7

Thank you everybody!