Who Takes Care Of Getting The Ribbons, Etc.? Wedding Cake ?

Business By SugaredUp Updated 1 Aug 2008 , 4:02pm by SugaredUp

SugaredUp Posted 1 Aug 2008 , 5:28am
post #1 of 13

Hey guys!

I had a consultation with a bride the other day. Her wedding is on Aug. 30th. She wants a 3 tiered square BC cake with non-edible ribbon and rhinestone border. I told her she has to pay 50% by Aug. 16, the remainder due 1 week before the wedding. She said originally her mother-in-law's cousin was going to make the cake, but she hasn't heard from her in a while...

She was supposed to call me a few days ago to let me know the deal (is she hiring me or not?) and she hasn't called. I'm not calling her. But I don't want to stress about the details - since time is running out. Here are my questions/concerns:

1. She wants the ribbon to match her bridesmaid dresses. Who gets this? Me or her? (I'm new to doing weddings obviously!) I'm concerned she'll leave me a very small amount of time to match the color.....

2. She wants a custom monogram. How do you guys usually handle that? She wants it to be in rhinestones. Do you guys make them/order them or send the client off to find one on their own? (I'm hoping I don't have to deal with this especially since it probably has to be special ordered and will take a while to come in.)

3. She wants a strand of rhinestones around the bottom of each tier. Again, who gets this - does this even exist already on a roll, say at Michael's?

I'm finding myself stressing out about all of this. My worry is that she'll either wait until the last minute and I'll have 2 weeks to scramble to figure out these details, or she'll pay the deposit, and then cancel if this mother-in-law's cousin decides to do it on the cheap.

This sucks!

TIA

12 replies
leepat Posted 1 Aug 2008 , 10:07am
post #2 of 13