Chocolate Buttercream

Baking By SueW Updated 12 Aug 2008 , 4:30pm by andpotts

SueW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SueW Posted 1 Aug 2008 , 4:41am
post #1 of 17

I have never done it before and just got my first request. I don't even know where to start. Any good recipes you can suggest? Thanks!

16 replies
Lisa422 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lisa422 Posted 1 Aug 2008 , 4:50am
post #2 of 17

I don't have a recipe, but would love to find a good one too. Here's a bump for you.

denette Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
denette Posted 1 Aug 2008 , 4:51am
post #3 of 17

I only have the recipe for the Wilton chocolate buttercream using the butter/crisco and cocoa powder. It's basically your regular buttercream with 3/4 cup cocoa added to it.

If you're asking about a chocolate SMBC, then I want to know the recipe too!

twooten173 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
twooten173 Posted 1 Aug 2008 , 5:00am
post #4 of 17

Here's what I use on the cake I sell to a restaurant. Not overly sweet.
3 sticks butter
10 oz (1.5 cups) crisco
1/2 cup milk
5 tbsp karo syrup
1.5 cups Hershey cocoa
3 tsp vanilla
pinch of salt
3lbs ps

Cream everything but Karo. Add 1 lb ps let it run a little while, then add cocoa, let it run a little while, then add 2 lb ps and pour Karo over this and pulse on and off a couple of times til incorporated so ps doesn't fly out of bowl (have KA 4.5 qt mixer). When everything is incorporated, I let it run on 2 for about 5 minutes to get it nice and creamy. Add 3 - 5 tbsp of milk to thin to a nice spreading consistancy.

andpotts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
andpotts Posted 1 Aug 2008 , 5:13am
post #5 of 17

I used indydebbi's buttercream recipe for crusting buttercream and then just added cocoa powder and hershey's syrup (like she saiys to) until I got the right color I wanted, it was so dang good it was hard to stop eating it out of the bowl!

spunkybear Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
spunkybear Posted 1 Aug 2008 , 5:31am