Need A Chocolate Cake Recipe...

Decorating By stnkrbll Updated 2 Aug 2008 , 12:26am by FromScratch

stnkrbll Posted 31 Jul 2008 , 11:39pm
post #1 of 6

Hello all. I am new to CC and love making cakes. I started out making them for my own kids parties when quickly everyone wanted their own. Anyhow long story short i am makign a topsy turvy cake for a friend of a friend. And the B-day Girl loves chocolate cake and i dont have a recipe... any help would be greatly appreciated!! icon_smile.gif

Thanks
Stephanie

5 replies
tracycakes Posted 1 Aug 2008 , 2:34am
post #2 of 6

Are you looking for a scratch or doctored cake mix recipe?

Several people have mentioned that the recipe on the Hershey's cocoa box is really good although I haven't tried it myself yet.

I made this one last week and it was really good:

Any chocolate cake mix (I used Pillsbury) prepared per package directions. In addition, add
1 egg
1 cup flour
8 oz. sour ceam
1 cup sugar
1/3 tsp salt
1 tsp. vanilla or other suited flavoring

It wasn't chocolately enough for me so I added 6 squares of unsweetened chocolate (melted and slightly cooled) and about 1/2 cup of cocoa.

This made it a denser flavor and the cocoa helped offset the added liquid of the chocolate.

The cake got rave reviews with my co-workers.

Edited to add: Welcome to Cake Central and your new addiction! icon_biggrin.gif It's a wonderful place for sharing and getting ideas!

stnkrbll Posted 1 Aug 2008 , 11:25pm
post #3 of 6

thank you very much for your reply. i will try that this weekend! thansk for the welcome as well. thumbs_up.gif

eatdessert1st Posted 2 Aug 2008 , 12:00am
post #4 of 6

This is my standard choc. cake recipe:

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/DOUBLE-CHOCOLATE-LAYER-CAKE-101275

HTH,
Melanie Mc.

eatdessert1st Posted 2 Aug 2008 , 12:00am
post #5 of 6

This is my standard choc. cake recipe:

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/DOUBLE-CHOCOLATE-LAYER-CAKE-101275

HTH,
Melanie Mc.