Fondant

Decorating By loloandjaffy2 Updated 12 Aug 2005 , 6:55pm by gegon

loloandjaffy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
loloandjaffy2 Posted 12 Aug 2005 , 5:47pm
post #1 of 7

I am currently taking Wilton course 3. I have never worked with fondant before. I was shocked at the cost of Wilton Fondant. I would end up spending over $25 for just my class cakes. I have seen posts on fondant recipes, including marshmallow. I have also seen posts that the Wilton fondant tastes awful. Can anyone give me any tips, recipes, etc. Thanks!

6 replies
beachcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beachcakes Posted 12 Aug 2005 , 6:10pm
post #2 of 7

I made the mistake of buying Wilton fondant - once. Wilton fondant does taste awful, IMHO. I have heard you can add flavorings to it to help with the taste.
I have used MMF on several occasions now and find it tastes good and is MUCH less expensive than Wilton. The recipe is 16oz bag of mini marshmallows, 3 Tbsp. water, one pound of conf. sugar. Melt marshmallows & water, then knead in sugar. Simple, but a little messy! Try it - you'll be glad you did!

NEWTODECORATING Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NEWTODECORATING Posted 12 Aug 2005 , 6:15pm
post #3 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by beachcakes

I made the mistake of buying Wilton fondant - once. Wilton fondant does taste awful, IMHO. I have heard you can add flavorings to it to help with the taste.
I have used MMF on several occasions now and find it tastes good and is MUCH less expensive than Wilton. The recipe is 16oz bag of mini marshmallows, 3 Tbsp. water, one pound of conf. sugar. Melt marshmallows & water, then knead in sugar. Simple, but a little messy! Try it - you'll be glad you did!