How Much Should I Charge?

Decorating By baycheeks1 Updated 15 Aug 2008 , 2:43am by baycheeks1

baycheeks1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
baycheeks1 Posted 30 Jul 2008 , 6:42pm
post #1 of 18

Ok so I am already making the wedding cake for my cousins wedding and his fiance wants me to make like a suprise grooms cake for him. I am attching a pic so you can see what it looks like...anyways How much should I charge? Take into account that I did give them a really good deal on the wedding cake, but since its my first one then I decided what the heck...So how much should I charge for this?
LL

17 replies
Beckalita Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Beckalita Posted 30 Jul 2008 , 6:56pm
post #2 of 18

It's a covered in fondant, and a lot of detail.....no less than $3.50 a serving

Aliwis000 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Aliwis000 Posted 31 Jul 2008 , 2:15pm
post #3 of 18

First off howdy! I am in Northwest Houston, Tomball!

I am a newbie decorator but I would think you could probably call around see what your area is for fondant.

I agree no less then 3.50, and I would even say maybe 4.50, there have been many many topics about pricing, you could also look there. Dont cut yourself short, this cake is cool and very detailed!
Good luck and we cant wait to see it and the wedding cake!

Alicia

AmyGonzalez Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AmyGonzalez Posted 31 Jul 2008 , 10:00pm
post #4 of 18

Hi girls, another texan here! icon_biggrin.gif
I agree with Alicia, You should charge what your time and cake is worth. In the houston area I woud say $4.50 a serving, especially if they got a discount on the wedding cake!

chasebrad Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chasebrad Posted 31 Jul 2008 , 10:14pm
post #5 of 18

I used to be north of Houston in Humble. And I would say the $4.00 to $4.50 per serving would be about right!

Awesome cake! Love all the detail work.....you should consider all the time that went into making it look so perfect!