Stepdaughter Help.....

Lounge By YouTakeTheCake Updated 18 Aug 2008 , 2:17am by seasonsmoke

YouTakeTheCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
YouTakeTheCake Posted 29 Jul 2008 , 10:03pm
post #1 of 6

Ok I have a stepdaughter...she is very jealous and she hates me.....
I don't really know what to do about it..... I am not the kind of person who will let anyone walk all over me (especially a 13 year old) so I can't just let her do whatever she wants....the only things I really ever ask her to do is clean up after herself.....granted she is a bit of a slob...and I am a bit of a neat freak!
Can anyone help me!

Jackie

5 replies
valerie01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
valerie01 Posted 30 Jul 2008 , 1:14am
post #2 of 6

I have zero experience with teenagers, as my own are still toddlers. But I just finished "Scream-free Parenting" by Hal Runkel, and it has been the most helpful book I've read. Contrary to the title, it's not solely about screaming, but any reaction you have to your kids that is less than desirable. It's not preachy at all. Instead he focuses on how you can learn to be in control of your own actions and deal with frustrating situations with your kids.

funcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
funcakes Posted 30 Jul 2008 , 2:32am
post #3 of 6

She's 13! It's her job to be a pain, or so my own daughter thought when she was 13. Most girls this age are having a lot of new feelings and emotions. They often don't know if they want to be treated as an adult or still given the love and care like a child and this can change in 10 minute loops or so my friends that teach middle school say.