Mixers

Decorating By clarasmommy Updated 30 Jul 2008 , 1:05pm by BigTexinWV

clarasmommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
clarasmommy Posted 29 Jul 2008 , 3:54am
post #1 of 18

I would like to purchase a mixer, but I don't wanna get the wrong one, so I was wondering if you wonderful CC folks could give me a few pointers on my journey... I need something reasonable priced, that will work for as much as possible.. I don't need anything too heavy duty, I'm VERY new at cakes, I just would like one, to save me from hand mixing buttercream! Any advice will be oh so much appreciated! Thanks a ton!
Tammy icon_smile.gif

17 replies
cupsncakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupsncakes Posted 29 Jul 2008 , 4:07am
post #2 of 18

I love my Kitchen Aid, I've had it for about 5 years and it gets a real workout. It's never failed me. My sister has a Mixmaster and she likes the way the beaters turn on that one, but she doesn't bake as much as me, so I'm not sure how good it is long term.

sari66 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sari66 Posted 29 Jul 2008 , 4:07am
post #3 of 18

Well, you'll get lots of differing opinions on this so I'll just tell you I use a kitchen aid, but hear that cuisanart (sp) is good too

Have fun and welcome

Franluvsfrosting Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Franluvsfrosting Posted 29 Jul 2008 , 5:18pm
post #4 of 18

I have both a Kitchenaid 600 and a Bosch Universal. Both have 6 quart bowls but that's where the similarities end.