Class Or Self Taught?

Decorating By Reneaz Updated 29 Jul 2008 , 7:16pm by RobzC8kz

Reneaz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Reneaz Posted 28 Jul 2008 , 3:30pm
post #1 of 27

Hello everyone,

I am a new member, been "lurking" for a while icon_cool.gif

I was just wondering if, when you first started out, if you took classes (Wilton) or were just self-taught from books/friends, etc.

I have this *crazy* urge to learn how to make the beautiful cakes I see here, and have thought about buying the "how to" books, but wanted to get some expert opinions!!

Thanks everyone - and you all make incredible cakes!!! thumbs_up.gif

Rene
(oh, I do kind of worry about gaining weight during the learning process! I just love cake (who doesn't?) Guess I could take my creations into work and let THEM gain the weight!) How do you restrain yourself from all the yummy cakes? icon_lol.gif

26 replies
Pookie59 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pookie59 Posted 28 Jul 2008 , 9:05pm
post #2 of 27

I've taken several Wilton classes and would like to take some more - probably will this fall. I keep coming back to this cake thing; for me it's just a hobby/sideline. I tend to bake for family and friends. The firm I work for sponsors a Ronald McDonald House meal once a month, so I almost always donate a cake. And yes, co-workers are always more than glad to eat your experiments and those samples often generate cake orders.

terrylee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
terrylee Posted 28 Jul 2008 , 9:12pm
post #3 of 27

I have been decorating cakes for over 30 years. I'm self taught and I'm still learning.

jennifer7777 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jennifer7777 Posted 28 Jul 2008 , 9:15pm
post #4 of 27

I am self taught. Took Wilton course 1 just to learn how to do the rose. I have lots of books that I learn techniques from.
If you want some good videos to learn a variety of basic techniques try these:
Cake Decorating Made Easy, Vol. 1 & 2
(purchase at www.yummyarts.com)