What Steps Are Needed Before Covering A Cake With Fondant??

Decorating By serenelui Updated 28 Jul 2008 , 4:06pm by serenelui

serenelui Posted 27 Jul 2008 , 6:02pm
post #1 of 13

Hi all.. i'm a total noob at cake making and have never attended any cake making/ decorating courses but am hoping to try my hand at making a cake covered in fondant for a good friends daughter's birthday. However, i'm uncertain about what i need to do after i bake my cake. From what i've read, after baking and filling/ torting the cake, i will have to crumb coat the cake.

However, i have several questions for this.. firstly does the crumb coat need to be a crusting or non crusting buttercream recipe?

After crumb coating the cake, what is the next step? Some say the crumb coat needs to be set before laying on the fondant, others say the fondant should be laid onto the crumb coat directly while its still tacky and yet others say that an additional layer of buttercream frosting about 1/4" thick should be placed on the top of the cake before laying on the fondant? Which is right? I'm so confused!! icon_cry.gif

Could someone please advise me on what is the correct procedure?

I've also heard that for laying on fondant on cakes, the cakes only need a crumb coat as too thick a layer of frosting will cause bubbles/ sagging/ wrinkles to appear on the cake? Others say that an additional 1/4" of frosting should be added to the cake before the fondant is placed over the cake.. so which is right and easier for a newbie like me?

In addition, when crumb coating a cake.. does the cake need to sit on a cake board the exact size of the cake so that the cake can later be transferred to a nice clean cake board for presentation purposes?