Fondant Tears How To Fix?

Decorating By drgrl21 Updated 27 Jul 2008 , 4:59pm by cakesbyallison

drgrl21 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
drgrl21 Posted 27 Jul 2008 , 4:26pm
post #1 of 8

fondant tears when i put on cake. what to do and it wrinkles.

7 replies
cakesbyallison Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbyallison Posted 27 Jul 2008 , 4:31pm
post #2 of 8

Sounds like it's either too dry, or rolled too thinly... Try adding a little shortening to your fondant, and knead through really well. Fondant should feel soft and pliable. Roll about 1/8-1/4" thick (not too thin) and make sure you've rolled enough out, give yourself plenty of extra, and try again. Try not to pull the fondant, but allow it to lay on and smooth down gently, keep workin it, you'll get it!

drgrl21 Posted 27 Jul 2008 , 4:38pm
post #3 of 8

what is the point of the shortening? so I don't keep on adding cornstarch and what is the point of the cornstarch. I feel confused. It's my first time with fondant.

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 27 Jul 2008 , 4:45pm
post #4 of 8

The shortening will make it a little more pliable and a little less dry, without getting stickier the way that it would if you added more liquid.

The reason for the cornstarch when you're rolling it out is that otherwise it will stick to your rolling surface. You can use shortening to roll it out instead, and then you're less likely to get it too dry. I use shortening for mine. The one thing I've noticed is that the surface against the mat won't be perfectly smooth when you use shortening, so it's better to make that the surface that's touching the cake, not the one that's showing...so don't just pick up the mat and flip the fondant onto the cake, if at all possible icon_biggrin.gif

cakesbyallison Posted 27 Jul 2008 , 4:47pm
post #5 of 8