Edible Image Questions

Decorating By ShortcakesSweets Updated 28 Jul 2008 , 4:42am by ShortcakesSweets

ShortcakesSweets Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShortcakesSweets Posted 27 Jul 2008 , 4:00pm
post #1 of 9

I've never worked with edible images before, so if this is a dumb question, please forgive me. icon_redface.gif
I have a cake due this week-end for a lingere shower that the design is so detailed and complex that I believe the easiest way would be to have an edible image done. Hopefully my local Wal-Mart can do this for me. Am I correct that this is done on rice paper?
My question is: How do I adhere the image to a cake that will be covered in BC?
All help/suggestions is greatly appreciated. icon_biggrin.gif

8 replies
Kim_in_CajunCountry Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kim_in_CajunCountry Posted 27 Jul 2008 , 4:28pm
post #2 of 9

Did my first edible image Friday night. Easy Peasy. While rice paper can be used, the images you get printed from party supply stores or Wal-Mart are printed on thin sheets of frosting with a paper backing.

First, I used scissors to trim the sheet as close as possible to the actual image. Then I frosted my cake with buttercream, smoothed it with a Viva paper towel, and then applied the image before the frosting crusted. I lightly smoothed it with a paper towel as well.

It really couldn't have been easier. I'll definitely do it again.

Good luck!

ShortcakesSweets Posted 27 Jul 2008 , 5:09pm
post #3 of 9

Thank you so much, Kim.
Another dumb question ~ do you take it off the paper backing? If so, how?
Sorry for all the questions, but thanks so much for your help!!

lillicakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lillicakes Posted 27 Jul 2008 , 5:28pm
post #4 of 9