Another Self Proclaimed Party Planner Strikes Again!

Business By Lorendabug Updated 27 Jul 2008 , 11:16pm by Lorendabug

Lorendabug Posted 27 Jul 2008 , 4:12am
post #1 of 9

I am just starting out and have been moving very slowly with my business. But, lately I have been trying to cut back at my full time job to focus more on cakes. Well, I am at my job and this girl that I work with says hey I hear you do cakes. I told her yes that I was just starting to do business. She says great I need cakes for some parties, I am a party planner. Are you available........Anyhow, we make arrangements for a two tiered cake for 70 for July 26. I call her two weeks before to make final arrangements and to remind her that I do not have a deposit yet. She never returns my call and is nowhere to be found. How rude! Why did I let myself get sucked in by yet another self proclaimed party planner? Arrghh!!!!

I am so frustrated at myself for falling for this! Why are people so unprofessional? It is something I will never understand.

8 replies
CoutureCake Posted 27 Jul 2008 , 5:54am
post #2 of 9

icon_mad.gificon_mad.gificon_mad.gif Yea, the worst thing is, it's not going to be the first or last time you have this happen, the best thing is to just plan for it and know that especially in the early days you're going to get A LOT of those (mainly it's people doing research for other bakers - who don't have the icon_eek.gif to just ask what your prices are)...

Don't get all frustrated by the situation, just realize that it's going to be there. You'll also find a lot of the self-proclaimed party planners out there but after about two minutes in business you'll discover which ones are legit and which ones aren't. The answer is still the same prices for everyone party planner or not.

Don't fret over other people's idiocity

CoutureCake Posted 27 Jul 2008 , 5:57am
post #3 of 9