First Time Wedding Cake... Help Please!!...

Decorating By Lori2240 Updated 26 Jul 2008 , 12:38pm by Lori2240

Lori2240 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lori2240 Posted 26 Jul 2008 , 1:54am
post #1 of 7

I was asked to do my first wedding cake and need some help. Please!!!The bride wants a cake that is not to big and wants to use sheet cakes to make up the remaining pieces. She is looking at a party of about 325 people, and wants a 3 tiered square cake 12in, 10 in and 8 (or 6in). She wants it with 3 layers of cake and 2 layers of frosting which is throwing me off of my estimating because it seems that a lot of stuff is torted (am I wrong?) She wants to keep the top tier though. Can anyone tell me how much this would serve??? I need to make a few 11X15 sheet cakes (with the 3 layers of cake and 2 layers of frosting) How many estra sheet cakes would I need to make?? It's just that it is my first time doing a wedding cake and I am having a VERY dificult time estimating how many cakes I will need, let alone how much I am going to charge her. Any advice, information, or tips is GREATLY appreciated!!! Thank you!!!!

6 replies
MnSnow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MnSnow Posted 26 Jul 2008 , 3:12am
post #2 of 7

Since she wants to keep the top layer you can't count it as servings available. You can bill her for it as an 8" serving 24 people.

So an 10" square will serve 40, a 12" square will serve 60. That gives you 100 servings so far. You still need 225 servings if her guest count is accurate. A 11 x 15 serves about 60 so you will need at least 3 for 180 or 4 for 240.

Don't forget to charge for the top layer that won't be served.

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 26 Jul 2008 , 3:24am
post #3 of 7

Can't help with the pricing...

Everything you ever wanted to know about making your first tiered cake:

http://forum.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopicp-5958955.html