What Do I Use To Cover Cake Board? - Newbie Question

Decorating By basketlacey Updated 24 Jul 2008 , 2:56pm by sookie77

basketlacey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
basketlacey Posted 24 Jul 2008 , 12:47pm
post #1 of 11

Hi guys. I am brand new to cake central and to cake decorating. In fact, tonight I am starting the first cake that will actually be decorated "outside" of the pan. (hanging my head in shame)

Anyway, I bought some wilton cake boards to use to plate my cake and I don't know what to use to cover them. The wrap says to cover with foil but aluminum foil will be too shiny I think. Do I use gift wrap? parchment paper?

Also, do I cover the board and then put strips of wax paper around where the cake will sit? Then I can pull the wax paper off after I ice the bottom? Or should I ice the bottom and then place it on the board.

Thanks for any advice.

Lacey

10 replies
sugarcheryl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarcheryl Posted 24 Jul 2008 , 2:18pm
post #2 of 11

Hi
Wilton has foil to cover to cake boards they come in silver and gold. Michael's has them or any cake decorating store and you can get them in other colors. I've even used the one's in the floral section also. I hope that would help.

sugarcheryl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarcheryl Posted 24 Jul 2008 , 2:22pm
post #3 of 11

Oh far as icing you can do it two ways. You can ice the cake first and put the cake on the board or you can ice the cake right on the foil board with a cardboard round underneath. But me personally like to ice first and put tape or buttercream on foil and then put my cake on top.

basketlacey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
basketlacey Posted 24 Jul 2008 , 2:25pm
post #4 of 11

Thank you sugarcheryl!

angelcakes5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
angelcakes5 Posted 24 Jul 2008 , 2:33pm
post #5 of 11