Does Anyone Else Do This?

Decorating By ThreeDGirlie Updated 23 Jul 2008 , 8:26pm by Rincewind

ThreeDGirlie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ThreeDGirlie Posted 23 Jul 2008 , 3:17pm
post #1 of 17

Let me start off by saying I am an engineer by degree, though I am currently a SAHM... My husband thinks I am crazy because I actually bust out the graph paper and skech (to scale) the cakes I plan to make.

And we're not talking wedding cakes, I'm talking ALL my cakes. most of them 9" rounds... Do other people do this? Or is this the crazy engineer in me?

I feel like I have all of these ideas floating around in my head, but I don't know if it will "work" unless I sketch it - from at least top and front views - and then modify as necessary. I also usually color it in to see if my colors will work together.

16 replies
Katie-Bug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Katie-Bug Posted 23 Jul 2008 , 4:24pm
post #2 of 17

I have NO artistic bones in my body!!

I do though sometimes sketch with my Crayola's, but other times I just have to actually start working on the cake an go from there. I have often thought this would so much easier if I could draw or paint...or even draw a stright line! icon_redface.gif

Aliwis000 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Aliwis000 Posted 23 Jul 2008 , 4:31pm
post #3 of 17

I dont do that, but I think its a great idea, not crazy at all!! You got a degree in something you like are are applying it to another love, thats cool! I say keep doing it, its a medium you feel comfortable in and lets you express your creativity and come up with new ideas you might not be able to do once you get started on the real cake.

Alicia

mrswendel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrswendel Posted 23 Jul 2008 , 4:33pm
post #4 of 17