Heating Core & Flower Nails - Please Explain

Decorating By sweet_2th_fairy Updated 22 Jul 2008 , 6:23pm by wendy1273

sweet_2th_fairy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweet_2th_fairy Posted 22 Jul 2008 , 2:49pm
post #1 of 16

I just read another post discussing baking a pound cake and using a heating core or flower nail to help with the baking. I understand the concept, but is a heating core something that you purchase or make? How do you do the "flower nail method?" Sorry, I'm new at this... icon_redface.gif

15 replies
kettlevalleygirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kettlevalleygirl Posted 22 Jul 2008 , 3:01pm
post #2 of 16

Wilton sells a heating core, which is sort of a metal cup placed in the middle of the cake while cooking. I have it and have used it, but use flower nails more. (I am not a professional!)
I use the nail, by placing the nail on the greased pan, I grease the nail also, I use several nails, depending on the size. place them around the pan, then pour the batter in the pan, slide them back to the place I want them and then throw them in the oven. (the nails are pointy up).
Then after they cool for 10 minutes, I turn the cake upside down on a rack, and the nails come out easily.
It really does work for even cooking.

mamajan61 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamajan61 Posted 22 Jul 2008 , 3:13pm
post #3 of 16

I don't even own a heating core. I've had so much luck with the nails... I figured why mess with something that works... icon_smile.gif

ladybuglau Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ladybuglau Posted 22 Jul 2008 , 3:15pm
post #4 of 16