Wilton Fondant Vs. Satin Ice

Decorating By aandecakedesign Updated 23 Jul 2008 , 2:04pm by Nicolle711

aandecakedesign Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aandecakedesign Posted 21 Jul 2008 , 7:20pm
post #1 of 13

Hello, never used satin ice but I have used wilton fondant mainly for accents. I had to use it to cover a cake the other day. HATED it. It seemed so hard to roll it as big as I need for this cake. Was it me? Is satin ice better to roll? I want to make my own fondant but Im not good at having things turn out so it would be a waste of money for me if it doesnt. Any suggestions if you have used wilton?

12 replies
tootie0809 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tootie0809 Posted 21 Jul 2008 , 7:24pm
post #2 of 13

Wilton is okay to work with, but the taste is beyond gross. Satin Ice is lovely to work with and tastes really good actually. I've tried making my own. Love the taste of homemade fondant, but I still have not mastered getting it the right consistency, so I haven't successfully used homemade to cover a cake with. Satin Ice is great! Don't ever use Wilton again. I don't know how it even qualifies as "food." Blech!

Bossy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bossy Posted 21 Jul 2008 , 7:34pm
post #3 of 13

I'm pretty new, but I found that anything tastes better than Wilton Fondant. I've tried Satin Ice , Fondariffic and Patinice. They all tasted great and work well. Dark colors tend to be softer and a little sticky. I love Jennifer Dontz's, chocolate fondant recipe. You can make it any flavor or color and it is so easy to work with. It does not distort when you pick it up out of molds or onto the cake.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 21 Jul 2008 , 7:34pm
post #4 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tootie0809

I don't know how it even qualifies as "food." Blech!

Double amen!!!

Pama2d Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pama2d Posted 21 Jul 2008 , 7:34pm
post #5 of 13