Giant Cupcake Help!!!!

Baking By carrotspine Updated 21 Jul 2008 , 7:27am by carrotspine

carrotspine Posted 19 Jul 2008 , 1:28pm
post #1 of 8

Hi all
I've just bought the Wilton giant cupcake pan and successfully made the chocolate cake, using the recipe supplied with the pan, however Iam making two further cakes for mum and neice in the next couple of weeks and i am desperate for another recipe. I've tried a traditional victoria sponge but it was a disater as I just doubled the quantites and all the fat sank to the bottom, revolting! I'm in the UK and as the Wilton is from the US, I'm really struggling to get anything here. iIbasically need a lighter cake for both. My neice is having a pink cupcake party, so a pink receipe would be ideal, but I will be very very grateful for anything a bit lighter than the chocolate one (I loved it, but not sure that much chocolate would be great for the mini people at the parties!) I'm really really new at cake making a decorating too, but will gladly post on my pictures once I've mastered the art!!!!
Many many thanks in advance
Caroline xxxxx icon_surprised.gif

7 replies
Karema Posted 19 Jul 2008 , 8:10pm
post #2 of 8

Have you tried the White Almond Sour Cream cake recipe. It taste great. You can also change the flavors by not using the almond. Using other extracts and other flavor cake mixes. Try it its really good. Type in WASC in the search and check the results for other flavor ideas. Good luck

kakeladi Posted 19 Jul 2008 , 9:20pm
post #3 of 8

Being as you are in the UK I can't help you much. Many of us use pkg'd cake mixes. I know you do have acces to them but probably are rather expensive icon_smile.gif
Have you tried a search on this site for a good white cake recipe? I'm sure there are many.

MikeRowesHunny Posted 19 Jul 2008 , 9:47pm
post #4 of 8