Ttt....terrified To Torte

Decorating By calebsmom45 Updated 19 Sep 2008 , 12:37pm by MichelleM77

calebsmom45 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
calebsmom45 Posted 17 Jul 2008 , 12:46am
post #1 of 31

I am scared to death to torte a cake. I am making my sisters wedding cake, which I have posted about before and I am thinking about torting it because I want it to be tall and look awesome but I have never done it before. I am thinking about doing a 8,10,12 and torting 2" pans, mostly because I do not want to buy all new three inch pans. Here is the cake that I am attempting to recreate with some changes.

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-photo_1046543.html

I definitely need to torte, don't I? I need to make it look like a wedding cake not some dwarf cake. What is the easiest way? I don't want my cake to slide and look uneven. Any tips? I don't want a collapsed cake, I am already having a hard time trying to figure out how to make the topper on this cake. Thanks!

Brandy

30 replies
karateka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karateka Posted 17 Jul 2008 , 1:01am
post #2 of 31

Instead of torting, why not bake an extra layer? You can either bake another full size layer, or divide your batter up into 3 pans. Then you wouldn't have to torte anything, just take them out of the pans and stack them up.

Make sure you have a thick icing dam between layers, whether you torte or not. I do like Sugarshack taught me and add a bunch of PS to my icing to make it really thick, almost like play do, and use it to go between each layer, whether I'm using a filling or not. Then you don't have bulging when you ice it.

Use a really good support system like the SPS or Stress free, and you won't have to worry about the cake collapsing.

I can't help on the topper, I don't do gumpaste flowers....yet...

Good luck..

calebsmom45 Posted 17 Jul 2008 , 1:09am
post #3 of 31