Breast Cancer

Decorating By miasuzzette Updated 18 Jul 2008 , 12:22am by tracycakes

miasuzzette Posted 16 Jul 2008 , 11:03pm
post #1 of 13

Hi, I'm a Newbie, My name is Margie, I'm from Ct, Just got a call From my Little sister 31 yrs. Told me that she has Breast Cancer, Now, What comforting words. I can give her, I feel so devastated. icon_cry.gif Knowing what she going to go through. Can someone Please, Tell me what I can say to her.

Thank you. CC Family

12 replies
mkolmar Posted 16 Jul 2008 , 11:57pm
post #2 of 13

There is nothing you really say. Just be there for her to lean on, talk to, cry to and even possibly yell at. She will be going through a lot as well as the rest of her family which includes you. I wish you all the best and hope she recovers quickly.

PattyT Posted 17 Jul 2008 , 12:20am
post #3 of 13

It is very hard to know exactly the right thing to say...but if you let her know that you will do anything you can to help her, she will have all she needs.

I had cervical cancer since 1992, and people always seemed very awkward around me. But everyone always let me know if I needed to talk, I could - if I wanted to "ignore" it, I could....and my feelings about both would change daily!

Everyone handles it differently. Some like the support group meetings, I preferred to be alone.

You are showing how kind you are by worrying about her, and trying to find how to help her. Keep reassuring her that she can say or do anything she feels, and having that freedom with you will give her a place to go no matter what. That, in itself, is a gift you can give her.

My heart goes out to both of you, and am wishing you well.

tchrmom Posted 17 Jul 2008 , 2:01am
post #4 of 13

I have no idea exactly what to say, but I come from a family with a horrible history of cancer. My mother has 6 siblings, all of whom have had cancer. My dad's parents and brother died of it.

Things to remember:
1) If it's caught early, it's highly curable. There is lots of hope.