I Really Need Some Good Advice!

Decorating By kdaze Updated 19 Jul 2008 , 1:14pm by kdaze

kdaze Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kdaze Posted 15 Jul 2008 , 8:14pm
post #1 of 18

I'm not sure what to do... I have 2 cakes I need to do that will be buttercream. One cake will have 3 different college logos on it and the other will have an extreamly ornate monogram. I was thinking about having them done as edible images but I want to apply them to fondant or gumpaste allow them to dry then attach them to the cake. Is this possible? I've never done one before. Also if I order them, can I get the logos done. I know copywrights etc... this is just a one off.

Next question. I was reading a little about using a regular inkjet printer with edible ink to make images. Has anyone done this? This could save 100's of $$$! Is it just a matter of switching the ink and using edible paper?

Any other ideas are welcome. icon_confused.gif

Sorry so many questions. icon_redface.gif

17 replies
JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 15 Jul 2008 , 9:24pm
post #2 of 18

For the printer, you have to use a new, dedicated, food-color only printer. You can't just switch back and forth.

You might try the frozen buttercream transfer technique for you logo. And you could put it on a fondant plaque

Chefperl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chefperl Posted 15 Jul 2008 , 9:40pm
post #3 of 18

i bought an epson cx7400 (it was on sale during Christmas time for $39) Then i bought ink from KopyKake. I use it all the time and i have never had a problem.

sillychick Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sillychick Posted 15 Jul 2008 , 9:43pm
post #4 of 18

I usually do a color flow piece for something like that. (Always make at least two in case of breakage) I have done the FBCT, but not on a project with a lot of details, sometimes my FBCT's don't come out as clear. Of course, that could be me doing something wrong!