First Official Wedding Cake...and Need Advice!

Decorating By Polkadot79 Updated 10 Aug 2008 , 9:59pm by lillicakes

Polkadot79 Posted 15 Jul 2008 , 3:52am
post #1 of 10

Hi all,

I need some advice about making my first wedding cake. While I am a newbie at it, my mom has made wedding cakes for about 30 I will have back-up VERY close by. She simply doesn't have the time or interest anymore and I've been desperately wanting to get started. icon_smile.gif It must be in our blood!

The cake is a four tier of varying heights...round...stacked without separators. The cake is very simple...moss green fondant. The decorations are green gumpaste blades of grass surrounding the layers. There are small pink gumpaste flowers in bunches grouped sporadically on the cake. The bride is using an inital topper. Overall, the cake has a rather whimsical, fresh, and simple look.

I'm not really that nervous about the decorating part besides...the fondant. I've only made it once before. At the same time, this cake is for a first cousin so it will be highly critiqued. I want something that is going to taste and look good. Another thing, the cake will have to travel an hour to the wedding.

All advice is greatly appreciated! Thanks!!

9 replies
CindiM Posted 15 Jul 2008 , 4:27am
post #2 of 10

My best idea would be, if you have time, to make a 6 or 8 inch practice cake. When I have a special design, I make a prototype to determine which tools I want to use, the coloring formula and I make sure I have enough supplies on hand. Practice with fondant on a real cake will help you feel more confident. Also, make a small "first aid" kit to take with you, which includes, tape, straws, small spatula, camera, extra dowels, extra butter cream, royal icing, a baggie of extra fondant, extra flowers, toothpicks, a small box for the top cake, etc.
Good luck and have fun. thumbs_up.gif

Polkadot79 Posted 16 Jul 2008 , 4:24am
post #3 of 10