Need Ideas For Backyardigans Cake

Decorating By Jewelsx19 Updated 15 Jul 2008 , 5:53pm by mridula

Jewelsx19 Posted 14 Jul 2008 , 11:52pm
post #1 of 10

My sons 4th birthday is coming up, and he has requested a backyardigans cake...Mainly Pablo and Tyrone are his faves.
Now keep in mind I need something simple, because I am JUST starting out (meaning I have only made a couple cakes, and started making my own bc) I plan on using crusting butter cream and possibly fondant accents and such, or maybe all fondant depending on how it turns out when I make it lol.

And it needs to feed 20-25, I would like a stacked cake, but I don't know how hard that will be.

9 replies
lukiesmommy Posted 15 Jul 2008 , 3:29am
post #2 of 10

I'm intrested in seeing the reponses to this as well... My little guy will be 5 in october. He wants backyardigans too. I need some inspiration too... His favs are Tasha and Austin.

There are some ideas in the photos...

msthang1224 Posted 15 Jul 2008 , 1:36pm
post #3 of 10

Hi, I did a backyardigans cake (Unequa) for my grand-niece back in January BUT, the only thing is, I haven't been able to upload any of my pics to the site for months, SORRY.

Maybe i can give you some ideas anyway. I like doing FBCT on most of my cakes because it's easy and fun as well. There are instructions n the articles section here. You can do it with cake or cupcakes. If you want to do a stacked cake, you must make sure that you have support (dowels) for your bottom tier.

Maybe you can do an all buttercream with fbct on top and accent all around the cake (other characters). Or, you can situate the cake around one of your son's favorites episodes. I hope this helps somewhat and good luck icon_smile.gif

marion123 Posted 15 Jul 2008 , 2:31pm
post #4 of 10