Where Is The Support? Really Strange...and Venting

Decorating By step0nmi Updated 14 Jul 2008 , 5:49pm by ladyellam

step0nmi Posted 14 Jul 2008 , 2:44am
post #1 of 20

so, I am thinking that my step-mom does not support my cake decorating business/talents. I have been decorating for 2 1/2 years and she has never really talked about the fact that I do cakes with other people...she always seems a little stand-offish about it. Well, today confirmed it! (don't know why anything didn't before! lol) we traveled to my cousin's bridal shower...and when we get there one of the sister's of my step-mom is setting up a cake. She is not happy about it...actually, she was saying how she was doing it as a favor to them. I then find out that this sister lives in the same area as me and my family and she has only decorated one cake before that. I tell her that if she needs any help that I am more than willing because I decorate cakes...and she is like "well, then you should've done the cake!" icon_surprised.gif I was surprised...she really was not happy doing this cake since this was only her second one...it is a stacked cake and it's cracking on one side and she is trying to cover it all up with these fondant sort-or hibiscus flowers . Actually, for her 2nd cake and not knowing much I thought she was doing a good job. I felt bad for her because she was soo stressed...I have kinda gotten the hang of setting up cakes in front of people and I know how to keep my cool...but she was kind of vocalizing it...anyway!

While on the way home in the car I decided to talk to my step-mom about it...but kind of in a subtle way. I was telling her how this woman was not happy doing the cake and that I would've been more than happy to do it...I would've done it as a gift I say! she didn't say MUCH to that!