I Just Have To Stop This Thing

Business By lilmiz Updated 12 Jul 2008 , 10:26pm by mushbug9

lilmiz Posted 12 Jul 2008 , 4:58pm
post #1 of 8

I have been doing cakes for about 5 years . I just did them as gifts for playgoup birthdays and for the parties I throw (which is alot.)

Now the other guests at parties ( people I don't know) are asking for my business card wanting cakes.
I did a couple (Naughty Naughty, I know) and that led to more calls and so on til I just had to stop this thing and say "sorry I can't".

I have no problem doing something for close friends and family as a gift. But I just don't feel comfortable doing them for anyone with no liscence and charging.

Everyone says " you need to start a business!" I would love to start my own business but I know how hard it is. Under current circumstance its not an option.

Guess I just need to vent to people who understand where I am coming from.

7 replies
mommachris Posted 12 Jul 2008 , 5:05pm
post #2 of 8

I can see why you have such a demand...you're great!
I also get why you want it to stop. Just tell the next person who makes a request that you are not a legal baker and you appreciate the compliment but that you will not be in business for some time.

Keep making those great cakes and don't feel guilty for turning away opportunities. It will rest with your soul better to stay within the law.

blessings,
mommachris

mushbug9 Posted 12 Jul 2008 , 5:10pm
post #3 of 8

An easy way to get licensed with little overhead is to go to a church or american legion or something of that sort and ask to rent kitchen time "as needed" from them. then whenever you do cakes for others for profit you would need to make arrangements to go there for it, may be a bit of a pain for a while but if you are considering doing this "for real" its a good place to start.

lilmiz Posted 12 Jul 2008 , 9:43pm
post #4 of 8

You know Mush bug I really should look into that Churches.