I'm So Nervous!

Decorating By grumpyx07 Updated 16 Jul 2008 , 2:13pm by FromScratch

grumpyx07 Posted 12 Jul 2008 , 3:54pm
post #1 of 12

So, this lady at our Dr.'s office got one of my cookies at Christmas time and let her 1 yr. old niece try it and she loved them so did everyone else. Apparently when asked what she wanted her for her birthday she said cookies. I'm not doing cookies, a cake and 2 dz. cupcakes for this woman with the theme of Elmo, due next Saturday.

I am SO nervous because she wants the cake to look as big and as expensive as possible, I'm charging her $65 for the cake/cupcakes but she said go big and if it's more she'll just pay it. The cookies I am personally throwing in because I want to try out Elmo and MY nieces want them lol.

The reason I'm freaking out is I normally just do 8" round cakes with an edible image...and only like 4 times. I'm not very experienced with how to store it once I finish it and she wants a light chocolate mousse filling, which I've never done. I want the cake to be as fresh as possible, but I don't want to be up to wee hours in the morning the night before especially since I have a work event the same day as the party. The cakes decorations will all be BC nothing else and I'm thinking of doing the musical Elmo cake from the Wilton 2008 Yearbook.

Any suggestions or advice of how early I can decorate and how to store would be very much appreciated. Sorry for the long book, I'm just really freaking out lol.

11 replies
lu9129 Posted 12 Jul 2008 , 4:36pm
post #2 of 12

Make your cupcakes now and put them in the freezer. (Wrap them really well) When it is time to decorate, get a big star tip and squeeze a good amount of icing on the cupcake and then pipe eyes, nose and mouth on them. They turn out really cute.

You can also do your cake ahead of time and freeze. I think you are low balling your price. But it's up to you how you do it.