Friend Pricing Issue-Long

Decorating By sarahpierce Updated 15 Aug 2008 , 5:47pm by tjsmommy

sarahpierce Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarahpierce Posted 11 Jul 2008 , 4:12pm
post #1 of 41

So, my DH friend is getting married. It's not a close friend, but he did film our wedding for us (although he missed half of it). Anyways, I told them months ago I would give them a great deal on their wedding cake because I could use the experience. Well, now the bride has decided she wants 250 cupcakes plus a cake to cut. Plus they want a cake for the rehersal dinner which I have never heard of since everyone will be eating cake the next day. Now I feel that I am pretty talanted for being completely self-taught. And nobody in my area does fondant cakes or designer cakes(sorry i have no photos posted yet, need help from my DH with that). I work full time and have 2 children, so I'll have to take off work to do this. I feel like the bride is taking avantage of me by going overboard. Besides the fact that she hasn't even sent out invitations yet so she doesn't even know how many are coming. If I tell her $2 a cupcake and I'll include the cutting cake is that unreasonable? Considering I will be delivering and setting up, and building a cupcake stand. I feel so overwelmed right now, but this could bring in a lot of orders for me. By the way I'm not legal yet, so the $500 would be a tip. I have to meet with them on sunday, any advise would be appreciated. Thanks.

40 replies
kelleym Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelleym Posted 11 Jul 2008 , 4:23pm
post #2 of 41

I wouldn't meet with her until she has her guest list under control. According to indydebi's rule, you will need cake for approximately 60% of the invited guests. If she actully needs 250 cupcakes, that means she's inviting 416 people, which doesn't seem...likely...you know?

ziggytarheel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ziggytarheel Posted 11 Jul 2008 , 4:31pm
post #3 of 41