Can I Put Mmf Fondant Cake In Refrigerator?

Decorating By cakaddict Updated 11 Jul 2008 , 10:38pm by buttercream_dreams

cakaddict Posted 11 Jul 2008 , 1:30pm
post #1 of 6

Hello!

This is the first time I must put a MMF fondant cake in the refrigerator because of the time I make it and the time I deliver it (i'm not a professionnal, it's only for my brother's birthday).

Is it a good idea?? Can humidity cause any damage to my cake in the refrigerator? I am worried about the look it could have when it slowly takes room temperature after removing it from the refrigerator...condensation make me hesitate.

Could you tell me if it's possible or not?

Thank you very much!

Cakaddict icon_biggrin.gif

5 replies
KHalstead Posted 11 Jul 2008 , 2:54pm
post #2 of 6

it is possible and it will get condensation on it. Why do you need to put it in the fridge?? Do you have a perishable filling or something??? Because if not I would just leave it at room temp in a box, I think putting cakes in the fridge dries them out...they're usually fine at room temp for like 5 days even! If you have to put it in the fridge when you take it out and it gets condensation DON'T TOUCH IT! Let it dry, it could take a few hours...just let it sit. Another downside to the fridge with fondant is that sometimes the cold will create air pockets in your otherwise perfectlly smooth fondant! That can be a super pain

cakaddict Posted 11 Jul 2008 , 3:34pm
post #3 of 6

OMG! Thanks for the answer!

I was about to put it in the fridge......... icon_eek.gif

Frodo, my big fat cat, I'm sooooo afraid he could jump on the cake, wherever I put it icon_confused.gif

You convinced me, I'll try to find a place out of his reach.

Thank you so much!

Have a nice day!

Cakaddict icon_biggrin.gif

KHalstead Posted 11 Jul 2008 , 8:17pm
post #4 of 6