Help Beginner Mixing Colors!!!!! Fuschia??? Bright Pink?

Decorating By Xime Updated 11 Jul 2008 , 2:35pm by dinas27

Xime Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Xime Posted 10 Jul 2008 , 11:47pm
post #1 of 9

Hello everybody!
I am a beginner cake decorator...really only do them for friends or family, and now I am planning my daughter's 3rd birthday cake...
It's gonna be a Dora the Explorer cake and I really have no clue as to how to mix a bright pink color for my fondant... I know how to do pastel pink, but just adding more red is not going to do it! ANyone can help me out???? icon_cry.gif Thank you so much!!!

8 replies
bobwonderbuns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bobwonderbuns Posted 10 Jul 2008 , 11:53pm
post #2 of 9

Use Chefmaster liquid paste in Bakers Rose color -- that should give you a good start. Add a dot of royal blue or purple to get a more fushia color. Hope that helps some! icon_biggrin.gif

Oh and WELCOME to CC (better known as your new addiction!) icon_lol.gif

Xime Posted 11 Jul 2008 , 12:07am
post #3 of 9

Sorry...another question...
ANd if I do not have the Chefmaster color to begin with? The thing is I am currently out of the US and have to use the basic Wilton paste colors (the package that has like 12 colors....
Thanks for the answer and warm welcome! icon_biggrin.gif

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 11 Jul 2008 , 12:29am
post #4 of 9

I have been decorating for over 35 years and I'm sure it's possible to mix a fuschia but I've never been able to do it. And I'm from the generation that mixed everything. I could mix burgundy but not fuschia. Now we can buy all the entire spectrum of colors ready to go.

So if I was attempting this with basic colors, I would use a pretty pink. I would scale the design back to whatever pretty pink I could make with what I had.

We were all real happy when they started making a fuschia.

Just a thought for you.

Kim_in_CajunCountry Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile