Any Guesses On What This Is Made Of?

Decorating By LadyPol Updated 10 Jul 2008 , 7:49pm by aswartzw

LadyPol Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LadyPol Posted 9 Jul 2008 , 2:36pm
post #1 of 12

Good morning, everyone!

My daughter's best friend would love this cake for her Sweet 16 party - I'm happy to do it for her, but am wondering what the numbers are made of... do you suppose they are gumpaste or do you think they are cardboard? I've never made stand up letters or numbers as I am still fairly new to cake decorating, so any suggestions you have will be most helpful and greatly appreciated!

Thanks and Blessings!

icon_smile.gif
LL

11 replies
veejaytx Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
veejaytx Posted 9 Jul 2008 , 2:54pm
post #2 of 12

They look like they may be made with the austrian crystal beads, like so many of the wedding cake toppers that are so popular now. I wish I had a link for you, but if you Google crystal cake toppers or wedding cake toppers, I think you will find some similar. HTH

tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 9 Jul 2008 , 3:36pm
post #3 of 12

I don't know why you couldn't make them out of gumpaste. When dry brush with water and sprinkle with cake glitter. I haven't done it but I don't know why it wouldn't work.

DianeLM Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DianeLM Posted 9 Jul 2008 , 6:33pm
post #4 of 12

They're probably gumpaste. Find a font you like and make yourself a template.

Roll out the gumpaste fairly thin and cut out the numbers. Let them dry for at least 24 hours, preferably longer.

You can either insert a toothpick (or skewer) into the bottom of the numbers before they dry or, as I prefer, glue a stick to the back of the numbers after they dry, using royal icing or melted chocolate.

Once dry, brush with piping gel and sprinkle liberally with cake glitter or sanding sugar or pixie dust or sparkle dust or whatever effect you like.

wgoat5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile