How Do I Store This?

Decorating By ThreeDGirlie Updated 9 Jul 2008 , 6:11pm by ThreeDGirlie

ThreeDGirlie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ThreeDGirlie Posted 9 Jul 2008 , 2:35pm
post #1 of 8

My son's birthday party is in a month (August 9). I'm making a sheet cake with Elmo from the arms/shoulers up coming out of the cake... Well, I did a head in RKT this morning to see if I could since I've never worked with RKT before and the cake version I tried didnt work out well for me.... RKT is so much more malleable and resilient, LOL! Anyway, it looked pretty good, so I made the fondant features to see how it would look - and am also happy with them.

My question is: Can I somehow store Elmo's head for the next month so I can just use this one and not make a new one? We're not planning to eat this, but he needs to be "good" since he will be touching the rest of the cake (Elmo's shoulders will be cake made in Pyrex bowl) that we WILL be eating.

Can I freeze him? Or just wrap tightly in Saran wrap and Ziploc?

Should I dry the fondant features or wrap well and try to store until closer to the date? If I dry them, should I oput the toothpicks in now or wait until I assemble?

Any advice is apreciated. And here's how he turned out if anyone wants to critique/offer suggestions. His mouth looks kind of big right now, but it will get fur around and on some of the black fondant to it will look better once I pull all of that fur...
LL

7 replies
armywifebryan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
armywifebryan Posted 9 Jul 2008 , 3:37pm
post #2 of 8

Not sure about how to store it. Just wanted to let you know it looks good. Great job!

ThreeDGirlie Posted 9 Jul 2008 , 5:25pm
post #3 of 8

Thanks Armywife!

Anyone with thoughts on whether this RKT Elmo can be saved? Or should I just let DS eat it and then make another one closer to the party? Please? icon_redface.gif

Sarsi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sarsi Posted 9 Jul 2008 , 5:27pm
post #4 of 8