Outlining And Flooding Cookies

Baking By Lenette Updated 14 Feb 2009 , 5:54pm by bobwonderbuns

Lenette Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lenette Posted 6 Jul 2008 , 6:35pm
post #1 of 22

I have been using a brush to do the base coat on my cookies with royal. However, the results are too inconsistent as far the coverage and the edges don't always look neat.

Does anyone have suggestions on outlining and flooding efficiently? It seemed to take FOREVER when I did it before.

Also, how do I prevent the flooding icing from running over the outline?

If you have any other tips I would appreciate them! TIA! icon_smile.gif

21 replies
Kim_in_CajunCountry Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kim_in_CajunCountry Posted 7 Jul 2008 , 5:00am
post #2 of 22

Well, I'm new at this, but I think I can offer some help.

I use the Antonia74 royal icing recipe found here on CC. I use a #2 or #3 tip to outline. I use a squeeze bottle to flood.

I mix a batch of icing and separate it into several bowls, depending on how many colors I am going to use. I make one bowl of each color. I prepare a disposable piping bag for each color. I add some stiff icing to the bag - enough for the outlines. Then I add water to the remaining icing in the bowl, a little at a time, until I get my desired flood consistency. The first time I made my cookies, I used the 10 second rule, which means I picked some icing up with a spoon and drizzled it back onto itself. I started counting "one-one thousand, two-one thousand..." and if the surface became smooth by the time I counted to 10 (but not before) I had added enough water. I poured the icing into a squeeze bottle and started in the middle of the area and went round and round until I got close to the edges. Then I coaxed and moved the icing around with a toothpick until all the gaps were filled in.