Smbc Newbie

Decorating By leahk Updated 6 Jul 2008 , 2:07pm by leahk

leahk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leahk Posted 5 Jul 2008 , 8:54pm
post #1 of 5

I would like to attempt making SMBC, but I have a few questions.
1- Can I use margarine? I need it to be non-dairy.
2- I only have a Bosch. So if I cook the whites in a separate bowl and then pour them into my mixer, how will I be able to tell when they cool?
3- Should I just continually use the whip beaters when adding in the margarine? Or do I switch to the dough hook?

Thanks for all your help!

4 replies
CocoaBlondie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CocoaBlondie Posted 5 Jul 2008 , 9:09pm
post #2 of 5

I'm not a SMBC expert, but I would not use margerine. My personal experience is that it is too soft.

leahk Posted 6 Jul 2008 , 5:14am
post #3 of 5

Is this true? Am I stuck making ABC forever just because I need it to be non-dairy?

CocoaBlondie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CocoaBlondie Posted 6 Jul 2008 , 1:49pm
post #4 of 5

I got to looking for you & the only thing I thought you could try is this one I never tried it before & thought maybe if you subed the butter for a bit less marg. you might be okay since it calls for crisco.

Italian Buttercream Meringue Frosting

Serves/Yields:
Prep. Time:
Cook Time:
Category: Italian, Frostings
Difficulty: Moderate

This makes a stable meringue from the cooked sugar beaten into it. This is a good buttercream to use in warm weather, but it will soften because of its high butter content.

4 sticks (1 pound) unsalted butter, slightly soft
1 cup Crisco� shortening
8 large egg whites ***
1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/2 cup sugar
2 teaspoon clear, pure or powdered vanilla
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup water

In a mixer, or by hand, beat butter and shortening together until smooth. Set aside in a cool area (68� F).