I Need Some Advice - Loooooong

Decorating By pamiez Updated 16 Jul 2008 , 7:25pm by pamiez

pamiez Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pamiez Posted 5 Jul 2008 , 6:37pm
post #1 of 14

Here's my issue: I have been making cakes for about 5 years, truely enjoy it and pride myself on the "All made from scratch" moto I have. Well, my BF's Mom, we'll call her Amy, also makes cakes but, here idea of a "custom" cake is a box mix and Rich's Bettercream icing usually with a edible image. I mean no offense to those of you who use cake mixes. I love the taste of them it's just when something is going to have my name on it, I prefer to make it from scratch.

Anyhow, "Amy" called me the other day to get my "input" and ask for help on her daughter's bday cake. She explained to me that she wanted to work on it during the day so "Any time you could spare". Well, I explained that weekends and evenings would be best because I work. Her response? "Oh, that's too bad. Well, any time you can afford would be good." icon_mad.gif I wanted to smack her. Well, back to the cake, she explained that she wanted to go with the "Tree of Life" theme of the Lion King. Fine, sounds good but she wants to put an edible image of the Lion King on the center cake. MY BF doesn't like the Lion King!!!! I know this, how is it that her own Mother doesn't? icon_confused.gif

So I suggested making a 12" round for the center. Decorate it like a tree stump, flowers, little critters etc. and write Happy 40th Bday with roots extending out to form circles around the 5 satilite cakes which would hold family photos.