Fondant Cake Covered Storage.

Decorating By sweetlady29 Updated 8 Jul 2008 , 12:20am by tonedna

sweetlady29 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetlady29 Posted 3 Jul 2008 , 3:44pm
post #1 of 13

I covered 2 cakes in fondant a day early, because I didn't have time to decorate them. I filled them with BC. I have them covered with towels, sitting out on the counter. I don't think I'm supposed to refrigerate them, but they will have to be sitting out all day today and tomorrow. I don't want them to dry out. What should I do? icon_cry.gif

12 replies
BrandisBaked Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BrandisBaked Posted 3 Jul 2008 , 4:13pm
post #2 of 13

I have refrigerated mine. I put a paper towel over the top of the fondant (if it hasn't been airbrushed) to collect any condensation, then wrap the cake in saran wrap. Never had a problem with it.

1BAKED453 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
1BAKED453 Posted 3 Jul 2008 , 5:09pm
post #3 of 13

HI SWEETLADY 29.I'M NEW TO CAKE DECORATING SO I DON'T HAVE ALOT OF EXPERIENCE,BUT I HAVE TAKEN A CAKE DECORATING CLASS & WAS TOLD THAT FONDANT ALLOWS NO TO VERY LITTLE AIR TO COME IN CONTACT WITH THE CAKE ITSELF, & THAT IT JUST LIKE PUTTING THE CAKE IN AN AIRTIGHT CONTAINER.THAT, I'VE BEEN TOLD IS ONE WAY TO DETERMINE HOW LONG A CAKE WILL STAY FRESH FOR IE. IF IT STAYS FRESH FOR A WEEK IN AN AIRTIGHT CONTAINER THEN IT SHOULD ALSO STAY FRESH FOR ABOUT A WEEK WHEN COVERED WITH FONDANT.SO THE SHORT OF IT , IT SHOULD BE O.K IF IT IS DONE ONLY ONE DAY EARLIER.WHAT FILLING ARE YOU USING THAT NEEDS TO BE REFRIGERATED?BRANDISBAKED, ANY IDEA IF FREEZING (A WHITE FONDANT COVERED CAKE WITH BLACK FONDANT CUT OUT DESIGNS ) CAN CAUSE BLEEDING OF DARK COLOURS WHEN THE CAKE THAWS?

BrandisBaked Posted 4 Jul 2008 , 12:22am
post #4 of 13