Who Designs Your Cakes -- You Or Your Customer?

Business By bakerfairy Updated 3 Jul 2008 , 8:46pm by Chef_Stef

bakerfairy Posted 30 Jun 2008 , 8:46pm
post #1 of 14

I'm still pretty new to cake decorating and I am trying to figure out how to best come up with cake design ideas with customers. My question is, do most of you decorators give substantial guidance to your customers on design ideas or options?

I'm finding that I would like the customer to be happy, so I want them to tell me exactly what they want, but in reality, they don't know the techniques available for their cakes, the amount of time something will take to complete, or the cost of certain designs. How do you complete a detailed cake for them, without telling them your secrets, but still giving them a clear picture of what they're cake will look like... or do you let them tell you exactly what they want it to look like?
Thanks in advance for your advice!

13 replies
peg818 Posted 30 Jun 2008 , 9:10pm
post #2 of 14

I pretty much let the customer tell me what they want, if they are unsure of what they like, they look at pictures and pick out what they like about the cakes, what they don't like (sometimes this can tell you more then what they like) Then there is the making suggestions, usually what the customer wants is so vague that you just work from there make a couple of sketches and see what they take to.

Jenn123 Posted 30 Jun 2008 , 9:59pm
post #3 of 14

Every bride is going to be different. If you don't have a lot of your own photos, ask them to find pictures they like from magazines and internet. Then you can work together to create something they will like. Making a sketch is very important. If you are fairly new, find photos or make small dummies of simple designs that you can handle well. In my experience, many brides have no idea what they want and too many choices just confuses them. Keep it simple and at a level you feel comfortable with.

Tona Posted 30 Jun 2008 , 10:16pm